Professor Shapter's research focuses on the development of novel nanomaterials for use in biosensors, solar cells, and other applications.

Professor Shapter, who has also been appointed Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Research Infrastructure at the University of Queensland, has moved to UQ from Flinders University where he served as Dean of the School of Chemical and Physical Sciences.