Theory and computer simulations of nonequilibrium systems

Charlotte’s research at UQ focuses on using computer simulations to test and extend new developments in the theory of nonequilibrium systems

​Dr Petersen is currently a Research Fellow in the Bernhardt group at the University of Queensland. She completed her Bachelor of Philosophy (Chemistry) at the Australian National University. In 2016 Charlotte was awarded her PhD from the Australian National University under the supervision of Denis Evans and Stephen Williams, for work on exact results in nonequilibrium statistical mechanics. She then spent two years as a postdoc at Aalto University in Finland, followed by a research fellowship at the University of Innsbruck, Austria, before joining UQ in 2020. 

Key Publications

Charlotte F. Petersen, Denis J. Evans, and Stephen R. Williams. "Dissipation in monotonic and non-monotonic relaxation to equilibrium." The Journal of Chemical Physics 144, no. 7 (2016): 074107.

Farhan, Alan, Andreas Scholl, Charlotte F. Petersen, Luca Anghinolfi, Clemens Wuth, Scott Dhuey, Rajesh V. Chopdekar, Paula Mellado, Mikko J. Alava, and Sebastiaan Van Dijken. "Thermodynamics of emergent magnetic charge screening in artificial spin ice." Nature communications 7, no. 1 (2016): 1-6.

Farhan, Alan, Charlotte F. Petersen, Scott Dhuey, Luca Anghinolfi, Qi Hang Qin, Michael Saccone, Sven Velten et al. "Nanoscale control of competing interactions and geometrical frustration in a dipolar trident lattice." Nature communications 8, no. 1 (2017): 1-7.

Farhan, Alan, Michael Saccone, Charlotte F. Petersen, Scott Dhuey, Rajesh V. Chopdekar, Yen-Lin Huang, Noah Kent et al. "Emergent magnetic monopole dynamics in macroscopically degenerate artificial spin ice." Science advances 5, no. 2 (2019): eaav6380.

Charlotte F. Petersen and Thomas Franosch. "Anomalous transport in the soft-sphere Lorentz model." Soft matter 15, no. 19 (2019): 3906-3913.


​Dr Petersen has been awarded funding for her research through an APA scholarship (2012), a Lise Meitner Fellowship (2019) from the Austrian Science Fund, and a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA - 2021) from the Australian Research Council (ARC).