Click here to watch the Seminar

We are pleased to present Professor Kristala L J Prather  to speak on Engineered Autonomous Control of Metabolic Pathways

Date: 9th march 2023

Time: 11am

Where: AIBN Level 1 Seminar room or online via Zoom


Microbial systems offer the opportunity to produce a wide variety of chemical compounds in a sustainable fashion.  Economical production, however, requires processes that operate with high titer, productivity, and yield.  One challenge towards maximizing yields is the need to use substrate for biomass, resulting in a competing pathway that cannot merely be eliminated.  Productivities may also be significantly influenced by the timing of expression of genes in the production pathway.  Dynamic metabolic engineering has emerged as a means to address these and other impediments in strain performance.  Ideally, the triggers for dynamic control would be autonomous, that is, independent of any external intervention by the operator.  We have developed such autonomous devices based on pathway-independent quorum-sensing circuits and have demonstrated their utility across several distinct metabolic pathways and with varying levels of complexity.  In this talk, I will describe our approach for development of these Metabolite Valves and results to date from their implementation.



Kristala L.J. Prather is the Arthur D. Little Professor in and Executive Officer of the Department of Chemical Engineering at MIT. She received an S.B. degree from MIT in 1994 and Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley (1999), and worked 4 years in BioProcess Research and Development at the Merck Research Labs prior to joining MIT.  Her research interests are centered on the design and assembly of recombinant microorganisms for the production of small molecules, with additional efforts in novel bioprocess design approaches.  Prather is the recipient of an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award (2005), a Technology Review “TR35” Young Innovator Award (2007), a National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2010), the Biochemical Engineering Journal Young Investigator Award (2011), the Charles Thom Award of the Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology (2017), and the Andreas Acrivos Award for Professional Progress in Chemical Engineering of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE, 2021).  Additional honors include selection as a Fellow of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study (2014-2015), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS; 2018), the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE; 2020), and AIChE (2020). 

About AIBN Seminar Series

The AIBN Seminar series showcases a range of seminars across different topics and disciplines


Seminar zoom recording: