I will showcase the recent advances made in nano photonics, bio photonics, and quantum photonics, enabling their transformation into cellular probes and sensors with single-molecule sensitivity. In parallel to the developments of molecular probes, we have invented new modalities and devised a series of new instruments to acquire high-dimensional and super-resolution details of living cells. In my talk, I will present the recently discovered advances in a new family of nanophotonic “Super Dots” that can up-convert infrared photons into intense visible light at the nanoscale. Each single Super Dot can be highly doped with more than 10^4 lanthanide ions for high brightness and nonlinear optical responses. Several fascinating properties have been discovered since to allow high-throughput bio-discoveries, data storage, single nanoparticle lasing and high-security-level anti-counterfeiting applications, setting records for the tracking of single-molecule transport, super-resolution microscopy, nanoscale thermometry, optical tweezers, and recently super-capacity digital assays, as well as the Australian development of rapid antigen test with single molecule sensitivities. Our research will enable super-resolution imaging of single molecules and live cells in their physiological environment, to watch subcellular compartments at work and understand the nanoscale world inside living cells.



Dayong Jin obtained his PhD from Macquarie University in 2007. At Macquarie, he was promoted to Lecturer in 2010, Senior Lecturer in 2013, Associate Professor in 2014, and Professor in 2015. He joined UTS in 2015, as a Chair Professor, and was promoted to Distinguished Professor in 2017. He established the Australian Industry Transformation Research Hub (ARC IDEAL Hub), and the UTS Institute for Biomedical Materials & Devices (IBMD), to transform advances in phonics and materials into disruptive biotechnologies.
He is a Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher, a fellow of Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and an ARC Laureate Fellow, with expertise covering biomedical engineering, nanotechnology, microscopy, microfluidics, and analytical chemistry, to enable rapid detection of cells and molecules. He has won the Australian Museum Eureka Prize (2015), the Australian Academy of Science engineering science medal (2017), the Australian Prime Minister Prize for Science – Physical Scientist of the Year 2017, and UTS Chancellor Medal for Research Excellence (2021).

About AIBN Seminar Series

The AIBN Seminar series showcases a range of seminars across different topics and disciplines