Record graduating cohort for AIBN

17 Jan 2014
AIBN graduate Yosephine Andriani (right) with Anna Gemmell.
AIBN graduate Yosephine Andriani (right) with Anna Gemmell.

A record number of Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology students were awarded their higher degrees in 2013.

The cohort included 26 students awarded a PhD and one awarded an MPhil, a marked increase on the 15 students awarded in 2012.

PhDs were awarded to Yosephine Andriani, Colin Archer, Jessica Cameron, Xiaojing Chen, Yam-Mi Chuang, Pamela Jaramillo Ferrada, Erika Fiset, Sandy Budi Hartono, Kelly Kitchens, Atikah Kadri, Jakov Kulis, Peng Li, Mervyn Liew, Paul Luckman, Leila Matindoost, Sean Muir, Hoang Quan Nguyen, Huey Wen Ooi, Azlin Fazlina Osman, Tania Rivera Hernandez, Suriana Sabri, Anne Sandstrom, Nghia Truong Phuoc, Dipti Vijayan, Jie Yang and Yian Zhu.

An MPhil was awarded to Khaled Sebakhy.

AIBN research higher degree manager Tony Miscamble said the number and quality of graduates marked a maturing of the institute’s research cohort.

“AIBN aims to generate outstanding research and, in the process, a new generation of outstanding researchers,” Mr Miscamble said.

“Our aim is to produce highly professional, independent researchers through our MPhil and PhD programs.

“A distinguishing feature is the priority to connect research students to AIBN’s growing global network of graduates, alumni, partner Institutions and industry partners.

“These are important goals to ensure that our graduates transition to become successful early career researchers.”

Deputy Director (Graduate Studies) Professor Darren Martin chairs the new AIBN Early Career Researcher Committee, aiming to connect alumni and partners and further student mentoring and employment opportunities.

“We aim to support students and treat them as professionals, including providing funding support and incentives which reward excellence,” Prof Martin said.