Congratulations - Spinifex Nanocellulose Pilot Plant Team

26 Jun 2019

AIBN would like to extend a warm congratulations to the Spinifex Nanocellulose Pilot Plant Team at Long Pocket for winning a 2019 University of Queensland Excellence Award for Leadership.

The annual UQ Excellence Awards acknowledge achievements that reflect and support the University’s pursuit of excellence and provide an opportunity to celebrate important contributions made by our colleagues across all levels of the organisation, regardless of position.

UQ Chief Human Resources Officer Dr Al Jury said a diverse range of staff have been recognised at the UQ Excellence Awards this year.

“These awards highlight the integrity, creativity and professionalism of our staff,” he said.

“I congratulate all the nominees for their innovative work and exemplary leadership, all of which are a credit to the University.”

There were a record 121 nominations across a range of categories, including Excellence in Leadership, Innovation, Service, Community, Diversity and Inclusion, and Mental and Physical Health, Safety and Wellness.

The Spinifex Nanocellulose Pilot Plant Team received an Excellence in Leadership Award in recognition of their efforts and leadership over the last seven years to produce Australia’s first and largest nanocellulose production facility, which has produced hundreds of kilograms of quality-assured product leading to many successful customer trials in concrete, rubber and recycled paper applications.

The nominated team includes originators, inventors, two PhD graduates and plant engineers who have cooperated extensively and with great integrity to bring the production facility to fruition. They have also showed respect and patience during negotiations with Indigenous Commercial Partners (Dugalunji Aboriginal Corporation) and the Queensland Government (Biodiscovery Act).

The Team:

Dr Nasim Amiralian
Dr Celine Chaleat
Dr Grant Edwards
Dr Emilie Gauthier
Mr Alireza Hosseinmardi
Dr Pratheep Kumar
Professor Darren Martin
Mr Benoit Martine
Professor Paul Memmott
Mr Liam Pooley

In addition to this well deserved recognition, it was also wonderful to see AIBNers nominated for both individual and team Excellence Awards across the categories of Innovation, Service and Mental and Physical Health, Safety and Wellness. Well done to all involved.